De vuelta al frente

I’ve only got one piece of advice, but luckily, it’s the best advice there is. It was given to me by the author Tim Binding when I was a young man with a long-unfinished first novel wasting away on his laptop hard-drive.

I said – Thing is, I always wanted to be a writer…

He said – Wonderful! So be a writer!

– But to do that, I really need to finish my book!

– Then finish your book.

– But I don’t have time. I’m soooo busy. It’s mad, how busy I am.

– If you want to write, then write.

– Thing is, I’ve got this day job…

– If you want to write, then write.

– The hours are just insane, like twelve or fourteen hours a day…

– If you want to write, then write.

– And my boss is just crazy demanding. And there’s this one bloke who hates me and…

– If you want to write, then write.

– And it’s all so draining; come the weekend I’m so tired I can hardly concentrate…

– If you want to write, then write.

And so it went on, until at very long last I got the hint. Which is when I went home and began to write.

To be honest, I’d been hoping to hear some Gnostic formula, some mystical insight that would light my way, make it all clear.

To be even more honest, what I was really hoping was that Tim could make it easy for me.

But the point is – it’s not easy, and there’s no secret. There’s just you and a keyboard and a story. If you want to write, then write.

Interview with Neil Cross
L&L
3 Respuestas a “De vuelta al frente

  1. So that, then write, but not waste more time

  2. Si l’écriture vous fait vous sentir mieux, écrit et prend ce que vous avez, utilisez le plus, parce que vous avez les outils pour rendre votre vie heureuse et complète.

Responder

